Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Repeater info for popular trails?

Repeater info for popular trails?

I am new to HAM radio. I was wondering if the rest of you would like to start to record which repeaters we have successfully connected to from the different trails. Maybe start a thread and keep the fluff to a minimum? Perhaps have someone (I would be happy) to take the input from the thread and keep a summary on the first post? SInce I am very new to the hobby I don't know if this is just dumb or troublesome or worthless or not really necessary. Thoughts?

I am thinking something like (example, I did not hit this repeater):

Bulldog at Ellsworth entrance/147.120/+/162.2 Handheld / 7 watts / rubber duck
    82 Cherokee WT SOA/SF/high steer/Alcan springs/agr box/Borgeson steering shaft/AMC 401/performer/holley TA/HEI/BeCool/727/ALTAS (2.0/2.72/5.44)/D60 Snofighter(Yukon Zip,hubs,stubs,4.56)/14 Bolt (FF,BF shave, Discs, ARB,Artec Truss)/MTR 37X12.5/Corbeau Moab Seats/RCI 6point Harness/Hella Aux lights/tuffy console/killer32 sliders/custom bumpers and roll bar/WARN 8000/steering brace/CO2 Tank/CB/dual batts/custom TC skid plate

Re: Repeater info for popular trails?

did you look up 'chirp' ? has list of repeaters I am new to ham radio my self. Looking to get call I.D. number my self...

I have an iPhone and there is a free app called Repeater Book which uses GPS to give you a list of ocal repeaters. I'm pretty sure it's available for Android, too.

For example, I just pulled it up while sitting in my hotel room in Las Vegas. It tells me the nearest repeater is less than a half mile, atop the the old Las Vegas Hilton. It gives the frequency, offset, PL and auto patch info.

Oddly enough, I have never tried to access a repeater from a trail. I typically use simplex for improved range and clarity among drivers. Maybe I ought to check the app next time I am out and see what repeaters I am near and see if I can work it.

Life's Short - Play Dirty