Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mobil HAM Users Here?

Question Mobil HAM Users Here?

I am new to HAM and recently bought some Baofeng handhelds and a Kenwood TM-281A with a Firestick 2 meter antenna for my TJ.
    I am still studying for the Tech license, which I should be taking next week, so I can be legal before I use these frequencies.

My main reason for wanting HAM is better quality and distance, especially in an emergency situation. Rather it be zombies, AJ tweekers or someone injured off road etc, capable communications can save life's! CB radios are extremely limited due to the interference and mass use of those frequencies.

With HAM, apparently you can hit a repeater from most anywhere you are. FYI:Repeaters are like cell towers that receive your weak signal and rebroadcast it with a more powerful signal, allowing for much great distances.

I will still have the CB along with the HAM, but would like to know of others here that are running HAM?
    Would like wake up this section of the forum; looks to have been dead for a while here.

What license do you have?
    What brand of mobile/handheld/base rig?
    What antenna(s)?
    What coax?
    Experience with connecting to repeaters while on the trails?
    What to do, what not to do?

Please contribute!

Thanks!
    Get Down With the Sickness!

Re: Mobil HAM Users Here?

Good timing I was just looking into the ham licencing last night was given a handheld ham last year just haven't messed with it yet. I'm curious to know how the testing goes for you and what way your studying for the tech license

not sure how up to date this is but look here: http://www.mag7race.com/pdf/channel.pdf

most of us communicate on a few of these that everybody has. BITD, BFG relay, weatherman, loco moco, etc. There are also a few KOH ones

Quote Originally Posted by Bugs View Post
    What antenna(s)?
    What coax?

Please contribute!

Thanks!

What license do you have? Technician