PDA

View Full Version : I need a 12VDC-48VDC transformer



JamesT
04-05-2004, 09:44 PM
Does anyone know where to get a 12vdc-48vdc transformer? Like this one http://www.powerstream.com/dc12-48.htm . I need a couple for a school project and the company at this site doesn't list any distributors or what they are used for. Their site also says you need to buy lots of 100.
The specs and dimensions of the above transformer are perfect for what I need.

TIA

CrotalusAtrox
04-05-2004, 10:12 PM
Here's a couple possibilities, but they aren't cheap:
From Mouser Electronics, www.mouser.com
Cincon CHB50-12S24 (use 2 modules with outputs in series)
or ETA-USA model VTD48SC12. ($213.22)

Will this be powered from an automotive supply? What's the
load?

Paul

JamesT
04-06-2004, 08:11 AM
Here's a couple possibilities, but they aren't cheap:
From Mouser Electronics, www.mouser.com
Cincon CHB50-12S24 (use 2 modules with outputs in series)
or ETA-USA model VTD48SC12. ($213.22)

Will this be powered from an automotive supply? What's the
load?

Paul

The load nearest we can figure right now is about 1.5amps.

The short story is, we are building a robot to complete a task. We will be racing against other teams. The battery packs they are supplying us with are 12vdc, the drive motors we are being supplied with are rated at 48vdc. My thought is, if I could raise the voltage for the drive motors safely our robot would be faster than the other teams. No one told us we couldn't do this, so I am assuming it is okay to do. More power..... grut, grut..

{Edit} I think the specific power supply is 10 "C" size NiCAD's. I haven't gotten the pack yet.

Thx

CrotalusAtrox
04-06-2004, 11:03 AM
Is this for FIRST Robotics?

PJ

JamesT
04-06-2004, 11:19 AM
Is this for FIRST Robotics?

PJ

?????

I am a Senior at ASU, graduating in May.