PDA

View Full Version : Dumb Geocaching Question

schneiderdn
12-24-2008, 02:17 PM
I'm new to the Geocaching thing, but it seems interesting and could add some fun to exploring the outdoors. However, are most of the caches buried? I'm assuming they're at least hard to spot, otherwise every non-geocaching person walking by would pick it up and/or throw it out. Yes/no? Also, are they always containers of some sort, or can they also be random items (i.e. a key chain, piece of chalk, etc...)

mingoglia
12-24-2008, 02:22 PM
I'm new to the Geocaching thing, but it seems interesting and could add some fun to exploring the outdoors. However, are most of the caches buried? I'm assuming they're at least hard to spot, otherwise every non-geocaching person walking by would pick it up and/or throw it out. Yes/no? Also, are they always containers of some sort, or can they also be random items (i.e. a key chain, piece of chalk, etc...)

Urban caches (the ones in town) are typical Altoids tins or similar. They're usually microcaches and you'll find them for example magnetized and stuck under a park bench.

In the desert the caches are typically ammo boxes, tupperware, etc. They're usually in a bush covered with twigs, or most commonly covered with rocks under a bush somewhere or at the base of a mountain. They're not easily spotted by people not looking for them but often times if you do know where they are you can try to look for a pile of rocks stacked on top of each other.