PDA

View Full Version : Airing down????

Lumpster
08-26-2007, 11:11 PM
OK. Newbie here and learning allot.

I hear everybody talk about airing down and compressors/air tanks. I have done very little 4wheelin.

Most of my driving will be highway till I get to trails or hunting spots I want to get to (I can see the need when rock crawlin). In the past, we have just pulled of the highway and onto the road then trail and few days later back onto the road/highway? Never aired down or messed with the tire pressure at all.

Does it make for a better (more comfortable) ride and will it give me better traction? I would also think I would loose clearance???? I dont mean for rock crawlin but for rough trails. Will one converted C02 bottle be enough to refill all 4 tires? Thanks.

TAGIPURIT!!!
08-26-2007, 11:36 PM
If your just driving down dirt roads it maybe a waste. Airing down make the ride more comfortable on dirt roads and increases traction. A co2 bottle can fill many tires how big?

TAG

Lumpster
08-26-2007, 11:48 PM
Running 33x12.50x15 BFG MT?....... I cant decide if I should get a compressor (may even be cheaper than a bottle) or just mount a bottle?

I am thinking a compressor would be better for me as we go to town when hunting to knock a few back???....... Bottle may run out if hunting/camping for more than a few days??

We go to Big Bug Mesa (south of Prescott) and the trails just beat us up. We probably should have been airing down all these years even if trucks/cars/whatever.........

ademster
08-26-2007, 11:58 PM
We can discuss this when I am there tomorrow... How ever I wont be in my jeep...

to far top drive with no a/c and well the gas millage is horrible in the jeep right now.

GLEN REAMS
08-27-2007, 12:42 AM
Running 33x12.50x15 BFG MT?....... I cant decide if I should get a compressor (may even be cheaper than a bottle) or just mount a bottle?