PDA

View Full Version : 99' TJ Lift Kit Install

cross_007
07-26-2007, 07:23 PM
I live in Chandler, Az. I'm new to the Jeep community, and enjoying the camaraderie and meeting new people.

I drive a 1999 TJ V6 4.0L Automatic that is completely stock (starting from square one), and like most folks, I am on a budget. It is also my daily driver. I am going to be purchasing a Lift Kit and was wondering if anyone with experience installing a lift would be willing to help me?

I know there are 2 types of kits: body lifts and suspension lifts - but I donít know much more than that. :confused: As mentioned, I am on a budget, so I donít necessarily need top of the line, but I would like to be able to get out on most of the desert and forest trails in Az that might have sand/mud/or water crossings. :D It will be more of an off-road/camping rig to take my family out for sight seeing and fun on the trails. I'm thinking 33" tires....is this tire size large enough, in your opinion? :confused:

If possible, I would like hear from folks on which kit and brand they recommend based on cost, on the amount of clearance the kit will provide, and based on the time required to install (remember it's also my daily driver so it has to be completed in a day or two (plus I am a rookie).

I will host at my place. I have tools (air compressor / power drill / wrenches / ratchet and sockets / pliers / nut drivers / screwdrivers), but I'm not sure what tools are required, so can't say I have ALL of the tools to do the job. I will provide copious amounts of pizza, beer, soda, and bottled water to anyone wanting help on their Jeep project, anyone willing to help us out, and also to those that would like to hang out and learn more.

I appreciate any and all responses.

Thanks, Chris.

cross_007
07-26-2007, 07:30 PM